|Connect With Us facebook twitter googleplus-20x20

Designation Q&A

What does the GRI designation stand for?
Graduate REALTOR® Institute - The most recognized professional designation in the real estate industry.

Who offers the GRI?
The North Carolina GRI program is owned by the NC Association of REALTORS®.  Courses are offered by the local associations in their market areas.

If I am not a member of the local association that is offering a GRI course, can I still attend? Will I be charged extra?
Yes, you may attend any GRI course being offered anywhere in the state at no additional fee. The GRI program is owned by NC REALTORS®, so as long as you are an active member with NC REALTORS® you may attend courses anywhere.

Are there any prerequisites for the GRI designation?
Only that you are a member of the National Association of REALTORS®.

How is the curriculum designed?
The curriculum is tailored to meet the needs of our members, and to meet the educational standards established by the National Association of REALTORS®.

A total of 60 hours of training must be accumulated to be awarded the GRI designation.

  • 4 Live Classes
  • 4 Online Classes
  • 12 Hours of Elective Credit

Do I earn CE credit?
Many of the GRI classes contain elective CE credit.

What are the designation requirements?
You are permitted to market yourself as a GRI after completing the steps listed below:

  • Complete 60 hours of coursework within five (5) years.
  • Receive a passing grade of 75% or above for each course examination; and adhere to the attendance policy.
  • Hold membership in the National Association of REALTORS®.
  • Submit  the GRI Designation Application online

How long will it take to complete the designation?
You have a limit of 5 years to complete the coursework from the date that you take your first class.

Is there an annual fee to maintain the GRI?
No, the GRI is the only REALTOR® designation that does not require an annual fee.